Ruti Ghugni – My ₹10 breakfast

Ghugni, a very popular street food in Eastern India (Assam, Bengal, Bihar, Odisha), is made from dried white peas and spiced up with a special masala called moodi masala. Almost every street corner will have ghugni or jhaal muri and both of these have something in common and thats the moodi masala.

Starting work at 8:30 in the morning, I reach office like a hungry maniac and I need good sumptuous breakfast to fill my empty stomach. So first day of office here in Calcutta, I went to this Kaku downstairs selling Ruti Ghugni and Ruti Sooji at breakfast time.

Me: Ruti ghugni dao to. Duto ruti. (Give me ruti ghugni. Give 2 ruti)

Kaku: Teente niye nao 10 taka (Take 3, it is for ₹10)

Me: *OMG so cheap* Haen thik aache teente kore dao (OK make it three)

Kaku packs the food.

Me: Koto holo? (How much?)

Kaku: 10 taka (10 rupees)

Me: *But that’s just for the ruti* I still gave him ₹20. And he gave me ₹10 back!

So there goes my ₹10 breakfast! Yummy and delicious…and oh so cheap!

Leave a Reply

